Savvy Saturday

oDesk

  • I created a profile here.  I did this as a result of a suggestion from a blog follower.  There are obviously other freelance job listing sites, that I may detail in another post.  For now though, I think two job list sites is enough to keep up with.
  • As in Elance, there are skill tests that should be taken to maximize the number of jobs you can apply for.  What’s a bit different is that a job listing can include requirements to have passed certain tests.  I passed the blogging test, but, need to take several more.  These take anywhere from 20 minutes to 40 minutes.  There may be longer ones, but, I haven’t run across them, yet.
  • I did apply for one writing job.  As mentioned above, it did ask for the application to have passed certain tests.  oDesk did not prevent me from applying.  But, the job lister will see that I don’t “qualify”.  I did offer to do one piece of writing for free.  Mostly to put a portfolio together.
Blog Machine

Blog Machine (Photo credit: digitalrob70)

Getting your Blog noticed

I admit to being an analytics junkie.  I’m sure there’s a twelve step program for that somewhere.  My theory is that if you can’t measure something, it’s hard to know what to change.  In my exploration of WordPress.com I’ve run across several suggestions, among them are:

  • Google webmaster tools: You will need a Google account, and to register your sites.  Beyond that, you need to include certain meta tags in your WordPress.com blog.  It’s in your WP dashboard under Tools>>Available Tools.  Search WP for more information on how to set this up.
  • Twitter: Same thing here.  You set up a meta tag as above.  You can then view the number of click-throughs to Twitter from your blog.  You will need a Twitter account first.
  • There are several other meta tags you can add, for Bing, among others.  I haven’t explored the possibilities of those yet.

oDesk versus Elance comparison

  • It was news to me when I started looking at oDesk about the planned merger between oDesk and Elance.  I’m wondering if I’ve wasted my time on oDesk.  I’m also wondering what things will look like after the merger.  Since I’m on both sites now, the changes will certainly be food for future blog posts.  They seem to be totally separate, at this time.
  • The testing is not a lot different, that I could tell in the few cases that I’ve experienced.  I’ll be taking more on both sites, until I see where the merger takes me.

p.s. alliteration…I’m going to try some alliteration in my blog post titles.  I think it adds a little personality and je ne sais quoi.

Leave a Reply

