Corporate to Freelancer Update August 1, 2014

time for CHANGE ...item 1.. Déjà Vu in Gaza? -...

time for CHANGE …item 1.. Déjà Vu in Gaza? — This calls to mind the words of Mark Twain: (Nov 28, 2012 / 14 Kislev 5773) …item 2.. Cobblers, Crisps and Crumbles (Nov 29th, 2012) … (Photo credit: marsmet546)

Elance Seminar

I watched a live Elance seminar (webinar) on how to make more money as a freelancer.  The person giving it was very articulate, and explained why we needed to do the things he explained.  I feel it was worth my time, even though I had figured it out, mostly.

Some of the topics covered:

  • Profile – do it, most if not all of it
  • ID verification – more jobs, people who hire you want to know you are, who you say you are
  • Tests – take them, you’re worth more if you can show you really do know about technical writing or PowerPoint
  • Portfolio – an example or three will help to show you are experienced in doing the work

There was more to the seminar; he provided the rationale behind each step.  In general, I would think this applies to oDesk, which Elance has or is buying.  It likely applies to other freelance sites.

Tests

I took a bunch of tests in oDesk; mostly for writing.  I thought I knew the various MS Office products, but, not to the degree that the tests assess people.  I’ll need to brush up and learn beyond the basics that I do know, as well as bring up myself up to the latest versions.

Leave a Reply

